Totally Wicked’s Tornado eGo-C

I was fortunate enough to be offered a chance by Totally Wicked to review the newest addition to the Joyetech lineup, the eGo-C. I immediately accepted and after a few days and a transatlantic flight (for the e-cig, not me) I had an eGo-C battery, 2 atomizer heads, a cone, atomizer base, USB charger, 3 pre-filled tank cartridges and a silicon mouthpiece cover in my hot little hands. My review sample was not in any sort of retail packaging and was not branded Totally Wicked instead it sported Joyetech markings.

The first noticeable difference between the Tornado-T batteries and the eGo-C batteries was the size. The eGo-C stands a few millimeters taller, yet contains a similarly rated battery. I checked the Joyetech website and found my answer, there is an additional level of protection worked into the C’s battery housing.

The battery section contains a 3.7 volt 650mAh lithium ion battery along with a microprocessor that uses pulse width modulation to maintain a steady simulated 3.3 volt output throughout the life of the battery charge. The PWM feature provides a consistent vaping experience in my opinion.

This battery does feature the five-click master on/off feature, which is great for preventing accidental firings. If the battery is operational and you press the button five times within two seconds the LED button light will flash rapidly, afterwards when you press the button the LED will not light up. This indicates the unit is in safe mode and will not activate the atomizer. When you are ready to use again, tap the button five times within two seconds, the light will again flash rapidly. Now, the LED should illuminate when the button is pressed indicating it is in the on mode, ready for vaping. The battery also has a ten second cutoff. The Joyetech website mentioned a new feature, a color changing battery button light to indicate charge level, this battery did not have it.

Recharging is the same as any ego battery. Simply screw the battery onto the USB chargers connector and connect the charger to a USB power supply or use a wall adaptor. When connected, the LED on the eGo-C will flash and the light on the charger will turn red if the battery can take a charge. When the charger senses a fully charged battery the light on the charger will turn to green. Took about an hour and a half to fully charge a fully drained battery.

The atomizer assembly consists of three main parts. The first I would like to mention is the atomizer base. The bottom of the base contains a connector to screw the atomizer onto the battery, as well as, two small notches to provide airflow into the atomizer. On top there is a small ridge cut out in which the atomizer nestles into, under that there’s a center pin that is electrically isolated that not only, allows air into the atomizer head, but also the positive current for the atomizer head coil. The rest of the atomizer base provides the ground. At the tip of this center-post are slots for airflow. When the unit is fully assembled these slots allow for air to be re-circulated in an inner chamber created in the space between the center-post and the inner walls in the base, underneath the atomizer head, and then drawn into the atomizer head. The outer edge of the atomizer base is threaded to attach the cone.

The atomizer head is the part where the magic takes place, not exactly magic, but this is where e-liquid meets heat as well as airflow to produce vapor. I am familiar with the eGo-T, so I was familiar with the spike at the top that pierces the tank cartridge and allows liquid to feed the 2.2ohm-heating coil inside of the head. At the bottom there is an isolated center terminal with a hole for airflow that meets up with the center-post of the atomizer base. When an atomizer stops working or begins to under-perform I don’t have to replace the whole assembly, only this smaller inner part. It makes for much less waste and I like that. They are going to be sold in blister pack strips of five, if I cut off a section of one it makes it easy to carry around a spare in my wallet.

One difference between the cone on the C and the original Tornado cone, besides the larger size, is that there is a press-fit washer inside about halfway down. The washer is there to hold the atomizer head in place when fully assembled. The bottom is threaded to mate with the base. I place the atomizer head onto the base, slide the cone over the head and screw the cone to the base, now the atomizer assembly is ready to go.

Cartridge filling was very simple; with one tiny exception, it is a little tough to get the cap off of the cartridge to fill the first time. The cartridge takes around 1 ml of liquid. I love not having to fiddle around with syringes or tweezers or cartridge filler or any other gear. I would not recommend it, I’ve refilled tank cartridges in the car at red lights. Some of the red lights are pretty long here in Florida. However long it usually takes me to vape 1 ml, that’s about how long a cartridge will last. I have been vaping pretty heavily and going through a full cartridge in about two and a half to three hours, I’ve been refilling 4 to 5 times a day. A lighter vaper would go through less. I am happy to report that the cartridges that I used for the Tornado-T will work with this device, because I still have a bunch.

Now that I’ve gone over the basics of the eGo-C and have the device assembled and ready to vape, I must mention this is one fantastic looking electronic cigarette. Matte black divided by the chrome center ring looks classy. The device has a sophisticated look, like futuristic mini-cigar. The weight is near evenly distributed so its balances quite comfortably the way I like to hold it, index and middle fingers on top ring and pinky on the bottom, and my thumb near the button. The finish has a slight grip to it without feeling rubbery, sort of like ceramic coating, feels like it won’t slide through my fingers. The finish is by no means bulletproof. I did notice a tiny scratch in the cone after about ten days use. The placement suggests that it was the result of the device falling over on my desk, but it could be from carrying it around in my pocket.

There is a bit of branding on the device that does take a little away from the overall presentation. Joyetech and eGo-C are silk screened on the battery as well as the atomizer cone, I would have preferred if they chose one or the other. I would rather see it eliminated from the cone and laser etched onto the atomizer base instead. It could be a happy accident, but the logos, button, and airflow notches all seemed to be well aligned when the device is new. This gives a neat appearance, but leads to one small gripe with the device. I would have liked to see the airflow holes perpendicular to the battery button. The way they are positioned now I sometimes wind up blocking them with my index finger or thumb. There are additional laser etched symbols on the batteries chrome band, one reminding to dispose of properly, and CE which represents a consumer electronics standard in Europe. The atomizer base is also etched changeable. The Joyetech logo is scribed into the tip of the device, I do like that, and look forward to Mr. Wicked taking his rightful place in that spot on the TW version.

The vapor production, flavor, and throat hit, does have as much to do with the e-liquid I choose to use with the device as the device itself. The supplied pre-filled cartridges contained a tobacco flavor, which when used with the Tornado eGo-C, provided good amounts of dense vapor, and a noticeable but not overpowering throat hit at all three strengths provided with very slight increases according to nicotine level. The flavor was pleasant but not one of my all time favorites, the taste of sweetened black walnut and almonds is the best way I can describe it.

I used a more familiar mix of fifty percent propylene glycol, fifty percent vegetable glycerin, twelve-milligram nicotine strength e-liquid, flavored fifteen percent with TW Red Label Pear concentrate. The vapor production did increase and did seem much more lush, throat hit was moderate, and the vapor had a very crisp pear flavor. It was what I was expecting from this liquid. Changing between flavors was not a big issue, the prior cycled out pretty fast.

The performance has been very consistent; I haven’t run into any of the dry spots like I did on occasion with the Tornado-T. I did not experience any leaking with this setup, but I do want to mention that when I separated the battery and atomizer for charging, there was a drop of liquid on the battery connector on a few occasions. I would use caution if using the C with an automatic battery. Airflow has a fair amount of resistance to it, more than a 510 atomizer, but the draw feels much smoother with the C. There is a double circulation effect created in the space between the atomizer head and base. There was an audible crackle, when the atomizer head was first used, which quickly settled down over the course of a couple of hours to a faint rumbling sound when activated. Normally, when drawing on the device I can hear a slight hiss for the airflow; however, on a few occasions it whistled, but was easily remedied by loosening and retightening the connection between the battery and the atomizer.

I notice the battery flash signaling time to recharge after around four to five hours of fairly heavy use, usually somewhere into vaping my third filled cartridge. I had tried the eGo-C atomizer with a Tornado-T battery and experienced similar results.

I’d like to thank the crew at TW for the opportunity, I am twelve days into my test spin of the Tornado eGo-C, and the atomizer head it is showing some signs of slowing down. I would rate it performing at a level of at least seventy-five percent of how it vaped the first day. I have been very impressed with the overall experience. The eGo-C is simple enough to use, and could quite possibly provide one of the best first impressions of vaping to a new user, that it would be a great device for me to recommend to friends and family who are considering giving vaping a try.

It provides a balance between form and function that veteran vapers may appreciate as much as I did.

This entry was posted in Hardware-Vaping Devices and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

